Be Part of the CURE banner_DRI lobby

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) serves as an external consultant to the Diabetes Research Institute, evaluating research programs and progress, as well as providing guidance and assistance in administrative policies and issues. The members of the SAB are appointed by the Dean of the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and the University’s Vice President and Provost.

The SAB meets with DRI faculty on a regular basis and presents a written report to the Dean of the School of Medicine. The DRI’s Scientific Advisory Board is comprised of several distinguished scientists who have earned international recognition for their contributions to diabetes research.

F. Charles Brunicardi, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Senior Vice President, Dean, College of Medicine
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University






Christopher B. Newgard, Ph.D.

Director, Sarah Stedman Center for Nutritional Studies
W. David and Sarah W. Stedman Distinguished Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
Duke University Medical Center





James Shapiro, M.D., Ph.D., FRCSC

Director, Clinical Islet Transplant Program
Canadian Research Chair in Transplantation (CIHR/Wyeth)
University of Alberta






Megan Sykes, M.D.

Michael J. Friedlander Professor of Medicine
Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Surgical Services
Columbia Center for Translational Immunology (CCTI)
Columbia University Medical Center




Massimo Trucco, M.D.

Professor of Pediatrics, Pathology, Human Genetics and Epidemiology
University of Pittsburgh
Hillman Professor of Pediatric Immunology
Head, Division of Immunogenetics
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh




Kathryn Wood, M.D.

Professor of Immunology
Nuffield Department of Surgery
University of Oxford
John Radcliffe Hospital
Oxford, U.K.














Keep up with our progress toward a cure & more

Be a DRI Insider - Get News!